Header Graphic
" mystery in a luminous word..."
charles frode
Author Writer Speaker
Header Graphic
Dreaming of Fish & Other Apocalyptic Stories of Foreboding and Grace

Just featured in "Kirkus Reviews" June 15, 2019 page 156

"A volume of short stories explores dark spiritual territory, examining themes of destruction on both a personal and global scale. In the poignant and heartbreaking “Dreaming of Fish,” a man trying to come to terms with a terminal brain tumor makes one last journey to the mountains where he and his wife have found so much joy… Frode’s (One Times One, 2016, etc.) wild imagination is on full display here…In this bold assemblage, the author’s prose can be thick…Though its reach may sometimes exceed its grasp, this collection is never less than daring and ambitious." – Kirkus Reviews

A Dream of India & Other Mystic Stories of Radiance and Darkness

"In this debut collection of short stories, characters experience spiritual awakenings through dreams and reminiscences. An epiphany, it seems, can come about by simply remembering… Frode recurrently lingers on descriptive passages…blurring the line between reality and mysticism. Inspired personal journeys that, even when traversing other worlds, stay grounded in the one readers know."     Kirkus Reviews  

One Times One & Other Numinous Stories of Redemption and Loss

"A collection spotlights 14 tales of madness, the possible existence of extraterrestrials, and inescapable fate... decidedly darker in tone than Frode’s (A Dream of India, 2015) preceding book…As in the author’s earlier work, his narratives are illustrative… Often grim, but always ruminative, stories that turn out to be as eccentric as they are indelible."  Kirkus Reviews

I Am Goldmund: My Spiritual Odyssey with Narcissus

"...recounts a friendship’s depth and intimacy …the recollection’s centerpiece is Frode’s connection to Brother Paul; the author uses Hesse’s Narcissus and Goldmund as a literary key to understanding their mutual affection… a strikingly candid memoir… an emotionally moving homage to a beautiful friendship, a peculiarly cerebral love letter. A touching… account of a half century of brotherly love.  Kirkus Reviews


See yourself reflected back to your mind and heart in extraordinary ways.

Ord  er your own personal copy of both of my short story collections now--A Dream of India & Other Mystic Stories of Radiance and Darkness and One Times One & Other Numinous Stories of Redemption and Loss and my just published memoir, I Am Goldmund: My Spiritual Odyssey With Narcissus.